Department of Agriculture.—This Department was established in 1867 (SC 1868, c. 53) and undertakes work on all phases of agriculture. Research and experimentation are carried out by the Research Branch; the maintenance of standards and protection of products by the Production and Marketing Branch; reclamation and development by the Prairie Farm Rehabilitation Administration and the Maritime Marshland Rehabilitation Administration; security and price stability policies are administered under the Prairie Farm Assistance Administration and the Agricultural Stabilization Board. The Farm Credit Corporation, the Canadian Wheat Board and the Board of Grain Commissioners are responsible to Parliament through the Minister of Agriculture.

Air Transport Board.—The Air Transport Board was established in 1944 by amendment of the Aeronautics Act. The Board is responsible for the economic regulation of commercial air services in Canada and for advising the Minister in the exercise of his duties and powers under the Act in all matters relating to civil aviation. The regulatory function relates to Canadian air services within Canada and abroad, and to foreign air services operating into Canada. It involves the licensing of all such services and the subsequent regulation of the licensees in respect of their economic operation and the provision of service to the public. The Board reports to Parliament through the Minister of Transport.

Auditor General's Office.—This Office originated in 1878 (SC 1878, c. 7) and currently functions under the Financial Administration Act (RSC 1952, c. 116). The Auditor General is responsible for examining accounts relating to the Consolidated Revenue Fund and to public property, and for reporting annually to the House of Commons the results of his examinations. He also audits the accounts of various Crown corporations and other instrumentalities.

Board of Broadcast Governors.—This Board was established pursuant to the Broadcasting Act assented to on Sept. 6, 1958 and is responsible for the regulation of radio and television broadcasting in Canada. This regulatory function includes the establishment and operation of networks of broadcasting stations, the activities of public and private broadcasting stations in Canada and the relationship between them. Applications for licences to establish new broadcasting stations and for changes in conditions of existing licences or changes in the ownership or share structure of licensees are referred to the Board by the Department of Transport for a recommendation to the Minister of Transport. The Board consists of three full-time members and twelve part-time members and reports to Parliament through the Minister of National Revenue.

Board of Grain Commissioners.—Constituted in 1912 under the Canada Grain Act, now the Canada Grain Act, 1930 (RSC 1952, c. 25), the Board of Grain Commissioners provides general supervision over grain handling in Canada by licensing elevator operators, inspecting and weighing grain en route to and shipped from terminal elevators, and other services. The Board, comprising a Chief Commissioner and two Commissioners, has authority to inquire into any matter relating to the grading and weighing of grain, deductions for dockage or shrinkage, deterioration of any grain during storage or treatment, unfair or discriminatory operation of a grain elevator, etc. The Board publishes its regulations in the Canada Gazette and reports to Parliament through the Minister of Agriculture.

Board of Transport Commissioners.—The powers of this Board, which was organized as the Board of Railway Commissioners in 1904, have been extended from time to time until today it has regulatory and judicial functions dealing with almost all aspects of railway activity including location, construction and operation of lines, rates and charges. It is also entrusted with the regulation of other transportation and communication agencies, including express companies, telegraph companies, telephone companies other than those provincially or municipally controlled, international bridges and tunnels and inland shipping. The Board reports to Parliament through the Minister of Transport.

Canadian Government Specifications Board.—This is an interdepartmental body composed of the Deputy Heads of 24 Federal Government departments and agencies. The Board operates under the auspices of the National Research Council through the medium of committees in which government and industry co-operate on a voluntary basis. The Board prepares specifications in commodity fields and for materials, processes and equipment required by government agencies, and arranges for necessary testing and research. An Index of Specifications is available on request to the CGSB Secretary, National Research Council, Ottawa.

Canadian Pension Commission.—This Commission, established in 1933 by amendments to the Pension Act (RSC 1952, c. 207), replaced the Board of Pension Commissioners, the first organization created to deal solely with war pensions for service in Canada's Armed Forces. The Commission's main function is the administration of the Pensions Act under which it adjudicates upon all claims for pension in respect to disability or death arising out of service in Canada's Armed Forces. It consists of eight to twelve Commissioners and up to five ad hoc Commissioners appointed by the Governor in Council. Its chairman has the rank and powers of a deputy head of a department and the Commission reports to Parliament through the Minister of Veterans Affairs.